The Serial Book Borrower

KBB_the_serial_book_borrowerThere’s something special about borrowing a book from someone in this day and age where so much of what we read comes from a screen. I’ve never really been a fan of e-readers (you can read my full confession here) and lending someone your Kindle doesn’t feel quite the same as having someone pull a volume off of their shelves for you, knowing that it’s something you’ll love.

It’s always interesting to see what someone has put aside for you because they think you’d enjoy it, or because they wanted to gauge your reaction. There’s a lot of books I never would have read had someone else not insisted that I read them. It’s funny how word-of-mouth is still the best form of advertising if you want to get a book read.

Expanding your reading repertoire is easy if other people know how much you love books. It isn’t unusual for me to leave a friend’s apartment without a stack of books in my arms. (I’m a also a bookshelf snoop, which doesn’t help.) I used to be such a serial book borrower that at one point in time the entire top shelf of my bookcase was devoted to stacks of books I had borrowed from friends and family, organized by original owner.

There’s even a few books of my own that I have loaned frequently to other people. They must have been so good that they have yet to be returned.

I’m always insisting that friends and family read the book before seeing the movie, so my copy of Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell is off floating around somewhere, as well as my copy of Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, although I must admit I haven’t seen the movie yet myself.

I’m bananas about books with interesting narrative structures and reading Jane Austen left me with the taste for epistolary novels (a rare art form these days!). As such, Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer are missing frequently from my shelves.

Sometimes a book has to be recommended to you by multiple people in order for you to bring yourself to read it, like Getting Things Done by David Allen (which I reviewed for the blog here). I had to read it twice before it finally “got it”; I’ve been lending it out ever since to anyone showing the slightest interest in it.

It’s amazing how another person’s perspective can transform you all in the simple act of borrowing a book. It’s fun to watch other people react to your choices, and react to theirs in turn. I end up reading so many things I wouldn’t have touched- books about politics, religion, science- and in some cases these books have inspired me to do more research on my own, or explore new territories I never dreamed would interest me.

If you’re looking for something new to read and you find yourself in a reading rut, I highly recommend adopting the attitude of a serial book borrower (like myself) and start asking people what they love. Join a service like Goodreads (it was life-changing for me, and I didn’t even get paid to say that) or simply start snooping their bookshelves. (Ask before borrowing!)

Who knows? The next book that someone picks for you might turn into something wonderful.

KBwB-BFlower-50Do you love reading as much as I do? Snoop my virtual bookshelves over on Goodreads, or visit the Book Section of my blog where I talk about all the books I’ve been reading- the good, the bad, and the non-fiction (which I read more often than you think!). All of the books I review are available on my Amazon store, where I do receive a small kick-back if you decide to purchase one. It helps keep food in my dog’s bowl, so she says “woof!” which I think means thank-you.

You’re probably far away which means I can’t lend you a book, but we can pretend like we can all the same. Comment below or drop me a line and tell me about the book you borrowed that changed your life.

7 thoughts on “The Serial Book Borrower

  1. I also love books in print. The problem is having the space to keep them. Most of the books I own are e-books, but if I particularly love one, I’ll want to hold the physical book in my hands. That being said, since my books are free, I can’t print them. One day, I hope to have them gracing my shelves.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a problem I’ve run into as well- my one bedroom apartment does not support my idea of dream library. I definitely miss my e-reader if only for the sheer amount of books it could hold without taking up any room on my shelves!

      Liked by 2 people

      • I understand that. My house lacks bookshelves so my books are spread out. 😂 But my kindle is invaluable, not just for reading and renting books from the library, but especially when I’m in the editing stages of my books. Maybe consider investing in one. Or use the kindle app on your phone or something.

        Like

      • I’ve got an iPad so that’s a good idea, especially because I’m missing out on so many books by independent authors that are currently only available online! :)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I also love to read and loan books. I’ve owned several copies of Dune but have managed to hold on to the one with my name written in a twelve year old’s careful cursive script. I love books– stacked around my house on desks and next to bathtubs and teetering in towers near the windows, a laybrinth I’m trying to lose myself in rather than find a way out.

    Like

    • Love it! It’s books everywhere for me too- believe me when I say that when I show off my bookshelf, you’re only getting just a taste.

      Dune is one of the those books that a few friends have been trying to get me to read forever. I’m assuming it’s a good one if you’ve held onto a copy for all of that time!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.