Fall 2017/Winter 2018 Reading List

Now that spring has arrived, I better tell you what I’ve been reading this past fall/winter. Spoiler alert: not a whole lot.

Winter is not a great time of year for me. The mornings are dark, the nights are even darker and during the day it’s freakin’ cold! Usually this combo makes the winter months perfect for curling up with a good book, but like the weather (and my mood) my reading routine kind of fell into a rut.

To refresh my reading routine for the new year, I focused on titles that captured my attention, or inspired me- I guess it was my own little way of snapping myself out of my lull and rediscovering my love of reading. Plus, it was a great excuse to stay inside with my blanket and a cup of tea.

As it turned out, I barely noticed the nasty weather when I was absorbed in a book that stretched the limits of my imagination. Lesson learned; I’ll be arming myself accordingly next year.

Fall 2017
  1. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
  2. Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl
  3. Today Will Be Different by Maria Semple
  4. Moo by Jane Smiley
  5. The Possibility of an Island by Michel Houellebecq

Winter 2018

  1. Be Frank With Me by Julia Claiborne Johnson
  2. The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker
  3. Latitudes of Melt by Joan Clark
  4. The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein
  5. Double Fault by Lionel Shriver

What are some of the titles that have been inspiring you recently? Email me your favorites at keepingbusyb@gmail.com or comment below and see if anyone else feels the same way!

Psst- wanna see which books have previously graced my bookshelves? Click here. Want even more fun reading recommendations? I’ve got some for you here. Don’t forget to find me on Goodreads so we can snoop each other’s bookshelves and dish about our favourites.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.