Summer 2015 Reading List

KBB_summer2015ReadingListOne of the many reasons that summer has always been my favorite time of year is because it represented a freedom for me from the constraints of schools and schedules, where I’d be able to spend hours doing whatever I wanted. And what I wanted, dear readers, was to read. All the time. I’d come home with armloads of books from the local library and read them everywhere- in the car, in the bath, sitting perched in the crook of the ancient tree in my backyard growing up.

My obsession with reading as many books as I could during the summer was usually encouraged by all of the gift cards I would receive for the bookstore for my birthday. I usually love seeing the titles someone picks out for me, but there’s nothing like the feeling of walking into a bookstore with license to buy pretty much whatever you want. It’s enough to make heart start racing.

So with summer looming on the horizon and some vacation time ahead, I’m planning on taking frequent breaks from my laptop to enjoy the sunshine on the patio and treat myself to some new books on my birthday- two new ones from some of my favorite authors, two of my sister’s favorite books that’s she been begging me to read for ages, and one brand new one that’s got everyone talking (so of course, I had to jump on the bandwagon).

1. All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews (great Canadian author!)

2. The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert

3. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

4. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

5. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

KBwB-Flower-50

Psst- wanna see which books have previously graced my bookshelves? Click here. Want even more fun reading recommendations? I’ve got some for you here. Don’t forget to find me on Goodreads so we can snoop each other’s bookshelves and dish about our favourites.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.